Farscape ( 1999Ė2003 ) was an Australian/American science fiction television series, produced originally for the Nine Network. The series was conceived by Rockne S. O'Bannon and produced by Jim Henson Productions and Hallmark Entertainment. The Jim Henson Company was responsible for the various alien make-up and prosthetics, and two regular characters ( the animatronic puppets Rygel and Pilot ) are entirely Creature Shop creations.

     Although the series was planned for five seasons, it was abruptly cancelled after production had ended on its fourth season, effectively ending the series on a cliffhanger. Co-producer Brian Henson later secured the rights to Farscape, paving the way for a three-hour miniseries to wrap up the cliffhanger, titled Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars, which Henson directed himself. In 2007, it was announced that the creator was returning for a web-series, but production has been repeatedly put on hold. A comic book miniseries was released in December 2008 that was in continuity with both the series and the hoped-for webisodes.

     In February 2014 it was reported that former series writer Justin Monjo had begun working on a screenplay for a new Farscape movie.  At WonderCon 2014, Rockne S. O'Bannon confirmed to Nerdacy  that a Farscape movie is in development but the movie is in very early stages.  

     The series was originally conceived in the early 1990s by Rockne S. O'Bannon and Brian Henson under the title Space Chase. The series is told in a serialized format, with each episode involving a self-contained story while contributing to a larger storyline. Nearly the entire cast originates from Australia and New Zealand, with the exception of Ben Browder, who is an American actor.



     Farscape features a diverse ensemble of characters who are initially escaping from corrupt authorities in the form of a militaristic organisation called the Peacekeepers. The protagonists live inside a large bio-mechanical ship called Moya, which is a living entity. In the first episode, they are joined by the main character, John Crichton (Ben Browder), a modern-day American astronaut who accidentally flew into the entrance of a wormhole near Earth during an experimental space flight. On the same day, another stranger is picked up by Moya: a stranded Peacekeeper named Aeryn Sun (Claudia Black). Despite his best intentions, John does make a few major enemies; the primary of these is known as Scorpius. There are a few stand-alone plots, but the show gradually unfolds progressive arcs beginning with their recapture by the Peacekeepers, followed by Johnís search to find another wormhole back to Earth, and an eventual arms race for weaponized wormhole technology. Secondary arcs explore the way in which the characters change due to their influences and adventures together, most notably John over his obsession with wormhole technology, his relationship with Aeryn and the neural clone of Scorpius that haunts him in his brain.




     Between 2000 and 2002, Farscape won two Saturn Awards for Best Syndicated/Cable TV Series and Best TV Actor (Browder). Additionally, in 1999, it received nominations for Best TV Actress (Claudia Black as former soldier Aeryn Sun) and Saturn Award for Best Supporting Actress on Television (Virginia Hey as the Delvian Priestess Pa'u Zotoh Zhaan). In 2002, it received nominations for Best TV Actress (Black), Best Supporting TV Actor (Anthony Simcoe as the Luxan warrior Ka D'Argo), and Best Supporting TV Actress (Gigi Edgley as the Nebari rogue Chiana).

     On 14 July 2005, Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars received an Emmy Nomination for "Outstanding Special Visual Effects For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special." In 2004 and 2007, Farscape was ranked #4 on TV Guide's Top Cult Shows Ever.   

     In 2012, Entertainment Weekly listed the show at #22 in the "25 Best Cult TV Shows from the Past 25 Years," calling it "one of the trippiest space sagas ever, with portions of some episodes taking place in Crichton's subconscious" and remarking, "Before Battlestar Galactica popularized frak as geek slang, there was Farscapeís very liberal use of frell."  

     EmpireOnline ranked it #45 of "the 50 greatest TV shows of all time" in February 2013. 



Ben Browder as Commander John Crichton

Claudia Black as Aeryn Sun

Virginia Hey as Pa'u Zotoh Zhaan [ eps 1-48 ]

Anthony Simcoe as Ka D'Argo

Gigi Edgley as Chiana [ eps 21-90 ]

Paul Goddard as Stark [ eps 45-66 ]

Wayne Pygram as Scorpius/Harvey [ eps 45-90 ]

Lani Tupu as Bialar Crais [ eps 45-66 ]

Lani Tupu as the voice of Pilot

Jonathan Hardy as the voice of Dominar Rygel XVI




















Season 5 

Special 1  : The Peacekeeper Wars PT 1 
Special 2  : The Peacekeeper Wars PT 2  









Farscape is register trademark of Henson Studios, Number Nine and
the Sci-Fi Channel.  Material here is to inform fans about the television 
show. There are no rights given or impli